Creating A Story

666Some listening activities  will wake your pupils up, make them move about, create movement and/or noise. Others will calm down, make them concentrate on what is in front of them and create a peaceful atmosphere. Sometimes we want to have a nice quiet atmosphere and sometimes we want our children move about and we can use listening activities for both purposes (Scott and Lisbeth – Teaching English to Children, Pearson, 2004)

Here is an example of listening activity that make your students move about.

This is an exciting form of story telling which you can do from  a very early stage is to create stories with children.  First the setting: “When did the story happen?” ‘ Once upon a time…’ We must accept the first answer that comes, no censoring allowed. ‘Okay, Once upon a time in…? ‘Egg’

‘Fine . Once upon a time in a country , town called Egg. There was…?’ And so on.

This gives a real feeling  of shared story and you cannot tell how the story will end- but it does, usually rather unconventionally. Making up stories with children at all stages helps them to put their thoughts into words and gives them a starting point for their own writing.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by aris lukmana on 12 October 2013 - 8:20 am

    Thats a good way to do, ms..
    I can try it in my class..haha,

    But sometimes, we rather find a student who does’t want to write when we ask them to retell the strories on their paper,
    Could you help my problem, ms?

  2. #2 by nunung aniza on 12 October 2013 - 11:28 am

    im very interested while you taught us at our class yesterday.
    thats so wonderful lesson,we felt very fun and enjoyed in your class.
    congratulations mis..you’re the best lecture for me.

  3. #3 by syifa humairoh on 12 October 2013 - 12:06 pm

    thanks for teaching me and tell me how to make students love study english.
    you’re my inspiration miss.

  4. #4 by eti fatimah on 12 October 2013 - 4:12 pm

    Thanks for all inspirations you have given me Mrs. you have opened my mind to change my self to be a good and professional teacher.
    I am happy to know you Mrs, you are a great teacher!

  5. #5 by lastry forsia on 13 October 2013 - 5:54 am

    I agree with that idea ms……. if just teacher tell a story and students is listener…. it is bored… as your opinion… that is convensional. But if there are feed back and make up story together with students, it is happier. And we can know knowledge of our students. I think,if we use this technique, it can creat new a story which more interest.

  6. #6 by kokom lasmiah on 14 October 2013 - 6:29 am

    thank you very much Mrs for your tell and teaching to me. it is one of a motivation for me. I hope,I can better then and I am very happy can know you.

  7. #7 by Iik hikmatun Nupus on 14 October 2013 - 2:23 pm

    Thanks you for your teaching to me Mrs , , , you have given me inspirations and motivation to teaching EFYL.. . . . I hope i can change my self to be good teacher in our life and good teaching to my student.
    I am enjoy studying with you mrs . . . . You are good teacher.

  8. #8 by lia apriyanti on 15 October 2013 - 3:57 am

    Thank you ms…l am happy study english with you..

  9. #9 by Evan bellamy on 15 October 2013 - 5:05 am

    Thanks for your information..
    this method important for me……
    you’re my inspiration miss&i hope be better from your teaching..”

  10. #10 by lia apriyanti on 15 October 2013 - 5:54 am

    Thanks for your method miss..
    you are a great teacher”!

  11. #11 by elis rahayu on 15 October 2013 - 6:01 am

    I like this method,, that’s very interseting..
    Thank you mrs..

  12. #12 by Evan bellamy on 15 October 2013 - 6:06 am

    Thanks for your information miss..i hope be better from your teaching…
    you are a great teacher&you are my inspiration”!

  13. #13 by Dina Romadhiniaty on 15 October 2013 - 6:29 am

    I’m very pleased with all the teaching methods that you teach, energetic and very inspiring, hopefully I can apply it to the students and can be even better as Mrs. Resty

  14. #14 by ayomendidik on 15 October 2013 - 8:59 am

    bunda ini no hp sy 085236046665
    headernya non aktifkan teksnya, buat image sendiri dari adob fotoshop atau yang lain, kalau kesulitan nanti sy bantu buatkan ….

  15. #15 by dewi mayasari on 16 October 2013 - 1:27 pm

    i think that’s a good method and i agree with you….

  16. #16 by heny wahyuni on 17 October 2013 - 3:24 am

    I used this method when I teach my student..That is very interested for them..
    thank you miss you are my inspiration to be teacher..

  17. #17 by Achmad Zulfikor (@saya_achmad) on 17 October 2013 - 6:06 am

    Good idea..
    It’s very attractive, while teaching the student, it can be easier to undestand

  18. #18 by dini hidayati on 21 October 2013 - 1:12 pm

    you are my motivation and inspiration ms, I got much knowledge from you, because of you my students enjoy to study english with me… thanks a lot ms

  19. #19 by Aflans El-wafaa on 29 October 2013 - 12:27 am

    this is excellent way to improve our skill when this method is used in the class for young learners.🙂

    Leave a Reply

  20. #20 by monica on 11 November 2013 - 4:18 am

    thank you so much miss for your learners, i will use it in my class.. because it’s interesting to learn. ^_^

  21. #21 by muniroh on 20 November 2013 - 3:39 am

    thank you miss…. you have give me same way to make student happy

  22. #22 by V3 Eunchan on 20 November 2013 - 10:36 pm

    Uwwah…!!!
    Even though I hasn’t tried this method yet (no low english class at the moment. Hehe…), but I think YES it will be effective because we involve them in making a story so they will be more interested in the story. And also happy, of course!
    But, for some students who can’t even think any word to say or just being to shy to say something maybe will become problem for us since we should persuade them.
    n_n
    Caw!

  23. #23 by Juth Riani on 19 November 2014 - 1:05 am

    I agree with this listening techniques miss, because by listening to a child could do something after the teacher provides instruction. such as when a miss teach and exemplify this method in the class 7e, it is very interesting miss the students who had been reticent to be active. Thank you miss😀

  24. #24 by Gita Cahyaningsih on 19 November 2014 - 4:30 pm

    This method was nice to be implemented in the classroom, but .. does create a story similar with mime stories Mrs? because mime stories included in listen and do activities.

Leave a Reply

